Life as a Spark

I am a child
I have lived a thousand lives
Seen things others only dream of
Seen what those who’ve seen
can’t speak of

I have wrought war
I have sought peace
Seen what both glorify
Seen the lengths people go to
to only reap what’s been bought

I have met heroes, instigators
I have met villains, lovers
Seen the battlements I help build
Seen nations rise and fall
in the wake of poetic uprising

I am just a flicker
I am just an orange-white wink
in a bonfire of change
wavering dimly
and mightily
while seeing every potential lick
as that spark
that lights the fire of revolution

and still yet, I see that glimmer in you

Lay an Egg

