What You Didn’t Say to Me

I don’t love you anymore.
I don’t know if I ever did.
In romance I’ve grown poor.
I know the warmth won’t come again.

Stars don’t wink behind your eyes.
The wind doesn’t sing of amore.
Cold saps my heart each bitter night
And I don’t love you anymore.

Those “little things” are now trying.
Your face fills me with guilt.
I know you’re slowly dying; denying
Even as hope flees this brittle life we’ve built.

I’ve retreated into myself forever.
It’s safer here, I’m sure.
You said things could only get better
But I just can’t love you anymore!

I don’t know what to do, alone,
But I’ll go crazy if I keep doing this!
For my apathy, I can never atone
But I don’t care if you hate me for it!

You’re too kind and too beautiful–
After all, you were my paramour–
But I can’t be what I think you deserve.
I shouldn’t love you anymore.

Lay an Egg

