For the Strong Ones Out There

Confession time.
I was wrong. I was prideful.
(You know me…)
Your words mirrored mine,
unspoken.
But I laughed and (It was relief, I promise!)
it sounded like
dismissal.
It was a gunshot, and I couldn’t
take back the mushroomed
bullet.
So I smirked
and told you I’d be strong
for the both of us,
in a way.
(A joke!
We both know neither of us
have to be strong for the other.
Even weak,
we are both invincible
alone.
)
So while you confessed to me,
I wallowed in self-defeating
denial.
(So who’s really the stronger?)

Lay an Egg

