“Sealed With a Kiss” Sounds So Trite

I want to be quiet now.
I’ve wanted to be quiet for a long time.
But I’m afraid
That being quiet now would be
A long hesitation
A hiccup
And the sounds and the scratches
And the tuneless whispers
And the painting and the anger
Will all come rushing out
At the first second it can
And drown
The both of us.

I want so to be quiet.
But the only time the peace visits me these days
Are in those moments
When he begs me to listen
Without saying so.
His eyes plead, his mouth draws a line.
And my mind
Stills.
My throat is not dry.
My eyes roam his face.
A thousand words choke
Like cobwebs in my mouth
But when he leans in to kiss me
He blows them away.

Lay an Egg

